By Lovin' My Sunshine
Created Mar 21 2010 - 8:04pm
So........I was eating a bowl of Kix's this evening while checking out the ingredients and such on the side. To my horror, I discovered that Kix include Vitamin D3, which is derived from an animal source. I immediately searched all the boxes in the pantry and found that all the cereals my family eats contain Vitamin D3. I wanted to alert other fellow vegans who didn't know of this and figured this was a good place to start.
Perhaps, however, I am over reacting and there is something going on the the Kellog factory that doesnt involve animals, but to the best of my knowledge D3 is animal derived, D2 is plant derived, and D1 is bacterial (or something close) derived.